The year is 1634 and the house of Burgesses was ordered, by King Charles,
to create a new form of local governments in the Virginia colony each with it’s own local officers.
The term shire, was replaced a few years later with the term county.

The Virginia colonies were given mandate by the King to establish a government.
The Virginia Territory was divided into 8 shires, each shire had a Reef overseeing the government within each reef.
​The ‘Shire’s Reef’ what is thought to be the origins of the word sheriff.

Extracted from 8 Shires Coloniale Distillery

Reviews (12)

Add Review

Your rating for this listing
Upload Photos